EOT 2014 A



actual line-up:

Dirk ‘Duke’ Schmitt – vocals

Dave Brixius – guitar

Jani Näckel – guitar

Achim Sinzinger – bass

Jojo Lichter – drums

EOT 2014 C

EDGE OF THORNS were founded in 1996 by Dirk „Duke“ Schmitt (voc, guitars) and Johannes Schütz (drums) in Bitburg. The line-up was completed by bassplayer Oliver Brück and keyboarder Lothar Krämer. From the very start the focus was on own compositions. Initially the band focussed on the dark sides of metal while Duke could concentrate on singing alone after the guitar duo Dave Brixius and Achim Sinzinger joined in 1998. The songs became faster, harder, more melodic and varying. Wreaking riffs, double lead guitars, catchy chorusses characterize the songs of that time. Hymns like “Riders of the Storm”, “Dark Magician” or “Lost” came into being which sould not be missed at any EDGE OF THORNS concert. After several self-produced demos 2003 the album “Ravenland” was presented to the metal community. Jobwise and family reasons lead into several line-up changes. Achim switched from guitar to bass and Dave was the only guitar player now. Temporarily the band was supported by keyboarder Markus Olk. At this stage the album “Masquerading of the Wicked” was done which was released beginning of 2008 and was received well. The songs became more various – stamping, catchy Metal songs mix up with speedy double-bass-killers, varying vocals, hard riffing, melodies and lunatic guitar solos without losing sight of the song. Because the keyboards increasingly became less presence in 2007 EDGE OF THORNS used two guitars again. Achim again turned himself to the guitar while Jules Langer became the new bass player. Again family and jobwise reasons lead into new line up changes. Due to Duke and Dave and fresh blood Jani Näckel on guitars the band kept its live presence, if they were big or small, in front of 5.000 or 5 visitors. They played with bands like Judas Priest, Dragonforce, Sabaton, Brainstorm, U.D.O., Subway to Sally, Rage, Sacred Steel, Tankard, Holy Moses, Korpiklani, Freedom Call, Perzonal War among others as well as performances on countless festivals like “Rock am Ring”, “Rock Harz” or “Queens of Metal”.

“INSOMNIA” is the title of their new and third album. One hour of heavy metal, powerful, with melody! David Brixius seasons the twelve songs with killer leads, catchy, feelingly, brilliant! Guest singer for the metal hymn “Metal unity” is Ralf Scheepers (ex-GAMMA RAY, PRIMAL FEAR) who does a superb job! A video was done for this one as well. EDGE OF THORNS having a sound that grasps of contemporary developments and at the same level with other major players of the style !


600 x 6001) Insomnia CD (April 2014) 12 €